Download the App

Download the Golf Weather iPhone App

Golfweather has a mobile app for your phone. Why not give it a try?

Download iOS App No Thanks
X

Download the App

Download the Golf Weather iPhone App

Golfweather has a mobile app for your phone. Why not give it a try?

Download Android App No Thanks
X

Home : Golf NewsBack to News

Thompson upset by another penalty

 

American Jessica Korda was clearly the big standout at the Honda LPGA Thailand on Sunday with her wire-to-wire, record-setting victory following jaw surgery in the off-season.

But Lexi Thompson, the USA's top-ranked women's golfer right now, wasn't too far behind after managing to get involved in another penalty controversy on her way to finishing in a tie for second place.

And this time it almost certainly cost her the chance of hoisting herself into the top spot on the World Rankings list for the first time.

Thompson, who was infamously given two, two-shot penalties (four altogether) when she looked certain to win her first major at the ANA Inspiration last year (the first penalty after a phone in detective claimed that she had lifted but not replaced her ball correctly on one of the greens the day before, the second for not reporting it) found herself the victim of another controversial penalty on Sunday.

This time she unknowingly moved a billboard out of her swing path on the 15th hole which she believed to be a 'moveable object' only to discover that a local rule deemed that the advertisement was actually a "temporary immovable obstruction."

The two-shot penalty given her after the round for a hole where she had made a par gave her a double bogey instead and lifted her 66 to a 68.

A 66 would not have been enough to beat Korda who won by four shots, but it would have given Thompson sole possession of 2nd place and that would have hoisted her into the No 1 spot on the women's Rolex World Rankings.

This according to a pre-tournament projection that indicated that if she finished no worse than solo second in Thailand and that reigning World No 1 Shanshan Feng of China finished no better than in a tie for 5th, the 23-year-old American would be promoted to the top spot on the Rankings list.

As it turned out, Feng did finish in a tie for 5th while the penalty resulted in Thompson having to share second place with Thailand's Moriya Jutanugarn.

On the upside for Thompson is the fact that her tie for second will see her jump from No 4 to No 2 in the Rankings.

For betting odds visit BetWay

Neville Leck

Written by neville@golfweather.com.